The Five Stages of Debugging

Posted by Anna Navatsyk on May 22, 2015 11:07:00 AM

Because it’s Friday afternoon and you may have had a long week, our brainiacs present…



The Five Stages Of Debugging:

Stage One. Denial - “What do you mean it’s broken!? That code has worked forever!”

Stage Two. Anger - “[Expletive], now I have to fix this broken piece of crap…”

Stage Three. Bargaining - “Hmm, maybe if I hack this bit up here that will fix it?”

Stage Four. Depression - “It’s all broken, it can’t be fixed. Maybe I should just go live on a farm. Is the janitorial staff hiring?”

Stage Five. Acceptance - “Whew! That was a rough bug but I finally got it fixed! How did that code ever even work in the first place? (shrug) oh well on to the next task…”

Hope you enjoy the Memorial Day weekend!

Pic Cred

Recent Posts

Posts by Topic

see all